looking to exchange ideas about a specific modeling method

This forum is for discussion of topics related to System Dynamics. You must be logged in to post but anyone who has registered on the System Dynamics web portal may post. Note that there may be a delay of a working day or two after registering before you can post anything.
Jean-Jacques Lauble

looking to exchange ideas about a specific modeling method

Post by Jean-Jacques Lauble » Tue Feb 14, 2017 4:42 am

Hi everybody

I have been studying SD for 15 years, trying to build useful models, with different methods.

I must confess with very small successes, being able to build credible models but if too complex not being able to build out of them credible policies.

I have recently instead of observing the problem, observed the way I was working and how I could improve it.

I am presently working in a totally different way that I resume shortly and that will change certainly with the time:

Instead of concentrating on the reality, I simplify it first to the maximum imaginable extent, and this extent is much higher than one could imagine. This simplification must start with a top down approach, starting at the top and not at a too much detailed part of the reality. (something that a consultant did for me some years ago).

I then work on this simplified reality, build a model, analyses it, find policies solving the simplified problem and spend the necessary time (which can be much longer that one would imagine) until it is obviously not possible to make it better nor to build a better policy, not to get more insights out of it. Until one is sure that one has reached a plateau in the quality of the model (which will be quite small at the first stages), the quality of the policies, and the overall understanding of the simplified reality.

Of course, the question I ask myself is the following: