Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Search in posts
Search in pages

Oceania Chapter Courses

New to systems thinking / system dynamics?

If you are just beginning your journey, have an interest in systems thinking in general, or want to know what system dynamics is all about, you may be interested in checking out some of these free online courses.

Note: There is a much more extensive list of courses of all types and levels of competence (some free, some not) here

Title URL Provider
Model Thinking https://www.coursera.org/learn/model-thinking#syllabus University of Michigan
Systems Learning https://systemslearning.org/on-line-course/ The Schumacher Institute
Natural Resources Management https://www.uib.no/en/course/GEO-SD660 University of Bergen
Systems Archetypes Courses https://www.thinkingtoolsstudio.org/courses/archetypes Waters Center for Systems Thinking
Open University Courses (Multiple) https://www.open.edu/openlearn/science-maths-technology/engineering-technology/systems-thinking-free-courses Open University
Thinking Complexity https://iversity.org/en/courses/thinking-complexity Iversity   Toulouse Business School
Road Maps, A Guide to Learning System Dynamics http://www.clexchange.org/curriculum/roadmaps/ Creative Learning Exchange
Habits of Systems Thinkers https://www.thinkingtoolsstudio.org/courses/habits Waters Center for Systems Thinking
Mastering Systems Thinking in Practice https://www.open.edu/openlearn/science-maths-technology/mastering-systems-thinking-practice/content-section-overview OpenLearn
Sustainable Food Security: The Value of Systems Thinking https://www.edx.org/course/sustainable-food-security-the-value-of-systems-thi Wageningen University & Research
Systems Practice https://acumenacademy.org/course/systems-practice Acumen Academy
Systems Thinking and Complexity https://www.futurelearn.com/courses/systems-thinking-complexity Future Learn
Systems Thinking and Systems Modelling https://loopsconsulting.kumu.io/systems-thinking-and-systems-modelling Loops Consulting   The Sustainability Laboratory
Tools of Systems Thinking https://www.thinkingtoolsstudio.org/courses/tools Waters Center for Systems Think

Introductory system dynamics courses

If you are interested in obtaining the basic skills to develop system dynamics models, check out the following online courses.

The Worcester Polytechnic Institute (WPI) System Dynamics Foundations is now available on-demand online! This is a classic introductory course in System Dynamics that was taken by hundreds of WPI students from the different degree and professional programs since 2005. This course will be self-led and self-paced without guidance from an instructor.

The list below provides links to a number of other free online courses.

Title URL Provider
15.871: Introduction to System Dynamics https://ocw.mit.edu/courses/sloan-school-of-management/15-871-introduction-to-system-dynamics-fall-2013/ MIT Open Courseware
Dynamic Business Modelling – Getting Started https://strategydynamics.com/modeling-getting-started/ Strategy Dynamics Ltd
Introduction to System Dynamics http://wayback.archive-it.org/10432/20180521184322/http://lm.systemdynamics.org/DL-IntroSysDyn/index.html Sustainable Solutions
Small System Dynamics Models for BIG ISSUES http://simulation.tbm.tudelft.nl/smallSDmodels/Intro.html Center for Systems Thinking
Supply Chain Dynamics https://www.edx.org/course/supply-chain-dynamics MIT edX
Supply Chain Modelling https://www.stuvia.com/school/nl/tilburg-university/supply-chain-management/supply-chain-modelling Tilburg University
System Dynamics (Gene Bellinger) https://insightmaker.com/systemdynamics Insight Maker – Kumu
System Dynamics Methods: A Quick Introduction https://www.public.asu.edu/~kirkwood/sysdyn/SDIntro/SDIntroduction.htm Arizona State University
Introduction to System Dynamics Packet http://www.clexchange.org/gettingstarted/intropacket.asp Creative Learning Exchange
Systems Thinking In Public Health https://www.coursera.org/learn/systems-thinking Johns Hopkins University