Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors
Search in posts
Search in pages

Go Home

Awards & Scholarships

society awards

Jay Wright Forrester Award

The Jay Wright Forrester Award is presented as often as once annually for the best contribution to the field of System Dynamics during the preceding five years.

Papers, articles, books, research or consulting reports, theses or other written material that have been published or are in publishable form in the English language, in the original or after translation, are eligible for consideration.

Deadline: March 21, 2023

Prize: $5000

System Dynamics Applications Award

The System Dynamics Applications Award is presented by the Society as often as every year for the best “real world” application of System Dynamics.

The best application is based primarily on demonstrated measurable benefit to an organization through the use of System Dynamics, and secondarily for new ideas that improve the art of applying System Dynamics, or for relating work to existing System Dynamics literature and/or other disciplines. The work must have been conducted within ten years of the submission deadline. 

Deadline: March 21, 2023

System Dynamics Lifetime Achievement Award

The System Dynamics Society occasionally recognizes people for making a significant contribution to a field or a practice over an extended period of time. This is the only award of the Society that is based on a body of work done over lifetime and not on a single article.

Outstanding Community Service Award

The System Dynamics Society Outstanding Service Award recognizes individuals that have, on a volunteer basis, made exceptional contributions to the Society over an extended period of time.

conference paper awards

Dana Meadows Award

The Dana Meadows Award of the System Dynamics Society is given annually for the best paper by a student presented at the annual System Dynamics Conference. Established in 2001, the prize celebrates and recognizes high-quality student work in the field of System Dynamics. In addition to an Award winner, several papers may be selected for honorable mention. 

Deadline: March 21, 2023

Opens: Jan 24, 2023

Prize: $2500

Previously the Lupina Young Researchers Award

Given to outstanding papers dealing with health-related topics, authored by students or recent (past 5 years) graduates and presenting at the conference. The award is presented by the Health Policy Special Interest Group of the Society and was previously sponsored by the Lupina Foundation of Toronto, Canada.

Deadline: March 21, 2023

Opens: Jan 24, 2023

Prize: conference registration & housing

other scholarships

Eberlein System Dynamics Graduate Scholarship

Open exclusively  to students registered full-time in a graduate program in the Faculty of Graduate Studies at the University of Calgary. To be eligible, students must be applying the methodology of System Dynamics to a novel area such as the social and environmental sciences including public policy; or the development of new teaching techniques.

Deadline: TBD

Prize: C$ 3500

2022 conference award winners

Yaman Barlas

Lifetime Achievement Award

Yaman has made lasting contributions in reaserch, in teaching, in nurturing and mentoring students who themselves have gone on to become leaders in the System Dynamics field. He has also made important contributions in service to the System Dynamics Society as an organizer of conferences, a leader in the Society governance, and as the editor of the System Dynamics Review.

Birgit Kopainsky

Outstanding Service Award

Birgit was the first female President of the System Dynamics Society. She serves on numerous commitees having created the learning committee and has agreed to be a program chair twice already. Her implementation force has been immensely helpful to thrust the Society forwards.

Sara Metcalf

Outstanding Service Award

Sara is Vice-President of Meetings of the System Dynamics Society and has done a herculean work in making the virtual and then hybrid conferences being a success. Her mind boggling attention to detail is also perceived in the many committess she proactively contributes to.

Nefel Tellioglu

Dana Meadows Award

"Modelling the effect of within-host dynamics on the diversity of a multi-strain pathogen" with colleagues.

Pei Shan Loo

Lupina Young Researchers Award

"Cholera response model: Yemen Al-Hudaydah"

Mariana Torres Arroyo

Barry Richmond Scholarship Award

"How Can Food Donation Policies Improve Fresh Produce Rescue and Reduce Waste?"

all award winners